Love Breakfast

Joe’s Grill Serves Reliable Greasy Spoon

Posted in Breakfast by Missy Shana on September 29, 2008

This morning we walked up to Joe’s Grill on West 4th, which is a very simple greasy spoon restaurant with Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner options. We arrive at Joe’s and the sun is shining. There is a decent lineup out the door, and we think about going somewhere else but in the end stick it out and surprisingly, we get a booth after only 5 minutes.

While ordering, I am torn between the Chorizo Eggs Benedict or the Waffle Combo. I decide to try something new, and order the Waffles. Our meal arrives pretty quickly and we dig in. My combo meal consists of 2 Belgian waffles, 2 poached eggs, 2 sausages, 2 strips of bacon, and a small bowl of fruit. Every thing tasted great. The sausages at Joe’s are excellent, not like the cheap shriveled up ones you’d get at Ikea (not that I’m knocking IKEA breakfast, best deal in town for $1. Stay tuned for that review).

But since I’m being a critic here I have to say that this combo was missing some whipped cream for the waffles. Even though they slid me a bowl of individually packaged whipped butter, it just wasn’t the same. The combo also lacked their prized pan-fried potatoes. Don’t even get me started on these potatoes — they are perfect. Crispy, thick, thin, seasoned, and oh so delicious with a bit of ketchup or hollandaise sauce.

Side Note: I’m eating an apple as I write, and it hurts me to remember all this.

Joe’s Grill 2061 W 4th Ave
Vancouver, B.C.
Vancouver, BC
Breakfast prices between $5.00 to $12.00
Reviewer’s Rating: 8.5 out of 10



Joe's Grill on Urbanspoon

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. accomplice said, on October 1, 2008 at 8:26 am

    Don’t forget this prize piece: If you are allergic to dairy and order the House Special omelette — just once I recommend you forget to mention your allergy and suck it up. Yum, that was one cheeeesy omelette and it sure was worth the 2pm gas rush.

  2. nick said, on October 6, 2008 at 6:34 am

    I love bacon.

    when i come back, were going to café crêpe for BF. be ready

  3. Tyler said, on October 18, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Where the heck is Bons on broadway!?

  4. Missou said, on October 19, 2008 at 4:51 am

    …coming soon 🙂

  5. Jamie P. said, on November 13, 2008 at 3:07 am

    Hey this was my idea to start a blog chronicling restaurants around Vancouver. …Except mine kind of died after one whiney post about White Spot. Yeck!

    I love Joe’s by the way. Ivan and I would sometimes go here for noon breakfast after drinking.


Leave a Reply

